Kentucky Derby Oracle 2013 by Jen Ferguson, Amanda Ferguson

I collaborated with my sister, Amanda, on a art piece for the Jockey Club’s website “Followhorseracing.com” centered around the Kentucky Derby. I decided to make an oracle which highlighted the horses with their different qualities and illustrate each one with their markings. Here is the result! http://www.followhorseracing.com/en/the-latest/blogs/2013/04/28/kentucky-derby-the-contenders/I really love what Amanda came up with the text on the Tarot cards- they are spot on if you’ve followed the horses. I’m still not sure who will win, and one of the horses on the chart isn’t running (Govenor Charlie) but I could swear the painting of “It’s my LuckyDay” winked at me, though I was putting in late hours to finish the art and it could have just been that my eyes were bleary.

Dean Haspiel helped enormously with layouts and computer work- Thank you! There is a print of the oracle for sale online at ETSY; here is the link:

https://www.etsy.com/listing/150045941/kentucky-derby-oracle?derby-poster

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

