What is a Tortuga to you?

This is one of my newer paintings, which for lack of a better description is figurative-abstract; I’ve been developing a series of new paintings and pushing forward- as always, never sure where it will lead, but hopeful about the possibilities. For years I’ve worked on small compositional ideas in my notebooks, and thought it was time to test them out in larger scale.

“Tortuga” is a small piece, 12 x 12″. Although I try never to impose any specific ideas about what the painting is about, I’ll tell  you this much:  this composition started to remind me of a giant turtle in the desert, which in turn reminded me of a grim scene in the show “Breaking Bad.”

"Tortuga" by Jen Ferguson

Leave a Reply

